They love their veggies!

Check out the Southwestern braised beef short ribs I was bragging about making for Valentine’s dinner. They were divine, to say the least.

Here are some more fun and delicious-looking recipes and articles that have caught my eye this past week; both from the site I run and from some pretty sweet-looking foodie blogs.

Affordable Italian bubbly for any celebration (even if you’re just celebrating a Tuesday)

Biofuel from beer? Turning brewing waste into natural gas

Cheese secrets you mite not want to know: The crawly critters that influence cheese

Top of the hops: Hopslam, Hoptimum and all of the beer hype

‘Want to Make’ List:

I think I’ve got a sweet tooth this week!

Bacon Bourbon and the ‘Boozy Bacon Apple’ Cocktail (Taylor Takes a Taste)Bacon and bourbon, together in one drink. Genius! The recipe is incredibly simple, too. I also love the cocktail recipe that follows the bacon bourbon recipe. I can’t wait to try this!

Buttermilk-Cheddar Waffles with Kielbasa Maple Syrup (Vanilla Sugar)O.M.G. I love the sweet and savory combinations going on here. I think I could get away with making this for my boyfriend, as he’s not a big fan of waffles/pancakes or sweet stuff for breakfast and I am, but we’d have a nice compromise with this recipe!

Chocolate Donuts with Ganache and Salty Pistachios (Vanilla Sugar)
Proving that doughnuts are easy to make at home. Plus, the feeling of accomplishment that will follow will almost be as good as biting into one of these sweet, chocolaty, salty beauties. (Fun fact: the photo has been my cell phone background for the past week.)

Dark Chocolate Brownies with Crystallized Ginger and Wasabi (Eats Well with Others) – Wasabi and chocolate? Most would turn up their noses at this, but I am intrigued and inspired to try it!

Homemade Nutella (The Family Kitchen)Only one word is needed to describe this: NOM!

Korean Chicken Thighs (BS’ In the Kitchen)A recipe for a super simple Korean-inspired marinade/glaze for chicken. Plus, you probably already have all of the ingredients to make it in your refrigerator. I think this would also work well on pork.

Maple Syrup Cocktails (WSJ) – Maple syrup isn’t just for cocktails anymore! I love the idea of using condiments in cocktails.

Mezcal cocktails (The Backyard Bartender) – Being an avid lover of tequila, I recently got into mezcal (also made from agave plant but is smokier tasting than tequila). I first had it in a cocktail at SideBern’s in South Tampa and fell in love! Now I’m obsessed with it and, though it’s great by itself, I’ve been trying to find the right flavorings to pair with it in cocktail concoctions of my own.

Oak Bars (Chardonnay Blondies) (Cook Like a Champion) – Chardonnay and blondies. Two of my favorite things together at last! Another ingenious way to use wine in a dessert recipe.

Skillet-Baked Chocolate Chip Cookie (Pass the Sushi) – Another one for my new cast iron! I’m also a big fan of cookie cake (a.k.a.: one big cookie), so this is a double win.

Thai Peanut Pumpkin Hummus (Cara’s Cravings) – This recipe uses natural peanut butter and Thai flavorings to give plain ol’ hummus a hot new makeover. Love it.

Vegetable Tamale Pie (A Couple Cooks) – Tamale Pie is one of my favorite things to make (mainly because my boyfriend always requests it) and I’m always looking for fun twists to add to the recipe. This recipe shows that you don’t even need meat to make a fabulous tamale pie!

Check back next week for more of my picks!

Ciao for now! 😀

Ridiculous photo via BalancedWeightManagement.com

